Colour Purple

Flowers tell us that the world is really beautiful and enchanting. Makes us have faith on nature. Reminds me what Walter Hagen said: You’re only here for a short visit. Don’t hurry, don’t worry. And be sure to smell the flowers along the way.
Bauhinia_blakeana_(Key_West)It’s always a delight watching a flower in full bloom. More so if the flower wears your favourite colour. Purple being one of them. It has been more than a week since the Purple Bauhinia trees in Mumbai and Thane are flush with their showy flowers and ornamental foliage. I chanced the season’s first bloom in the park where I jog. Most were on trees and few scattered on the ground. Had they been jasmine or other sweets smelling flowers they would have picked up to be placed in front of the altar but not these.
Each time I passed I sent a kiss towards them which my daughter who accompanied found annoying. My action was to thank them for the beauty.
And I soon found that she had sprinting much ahead and turned to say: “It’s really embarrassing, don’t do it. “
The lone Purple Bauhinia I have planted on the edge of my farm is still too young but I’m hoping it will soon bloom: for it blooms twice a year.
I take solace on what Henri Matisse said: There are always flowers for those who want to see them.
Before the Purple Bauhinias wither and fade away this season do have a dekho at them.

Leave a Reply

