Year’s Last Night

Early in the day friends called up inquiring where I would spend the year’s last night and usher the New Year. On knowing my answer most exclaimed saying: “You really rock Hiraman!”
I write this post, 65kms from my urban dwelling, far from the “Lungi Dance…”, “Badtameej Dil Mane Na” and “Radha Teri Payaliya” blaring non-stop from the neighbourhoods in the vast concrete jungle, we know as cities.
Why do we create a blast when we celebrate? Even when we welcome a new year.
I’m at my farm under a clear night sky with umpteen stars and the moon. The cicadas singing in a language I don’t understand but I’m trying to. I can barely see my fruit-bearing trees but for their silhouettes. I try to drown the cicadas singing with music originating from my mobile.
It’s still three hours from midnight and I’m enjoying every moment of it immersed in my thought planning what I would do in the morning. Every 10 minutes or so my mobile announces that I’ve a friend who is remembering me-wishing me a happy and prosperous New Year. And as the mobile lights up moths rush towards it.

2 thoughts on “Year’s Last Night

  1. soul . to . earth

    Be it seasons, flora, fauna et al, nature is always having a party! We make noise because we don’t know how to party like nature does! 🙂

    Out here in Canada, we go away to “Cottage country” during Christmas to avoid the dul-dul aka din of all the merry-making. In general, it seems most of us (no matter which country) now live and earn our livelihood in places that don’t allow us to easily connect either with ourselves or nature.

    Hiraman (or is it Hiren?), your posts are lovely stories woven around your farm. Very interesting to read, learn and at times, just reminisce.
    Radhika

    1. hiraman

      Hello radhika
      Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving the comment. You observation “most of us (no matter which country) now live and earn our livelihood in places that don’t allow us to easily connect either with ourselves or nature” is very true.

Leave a Reply

