Melon Memories

Memories of lazy noons spent in the company of my family–my mother knitting a sweater while we brothers and sisters taking in the November sun either sprawled on a charpoy or reading a book seated on a wooden stool in front of our British-built quarters made of stone–flooded recently when wifey handed me a palm full of musk-melon seeds.
Time had moved so fast. Those were the days when as a kid I was struggling with my studies. My friends were the best thing which happened to me. I felt as if I was flying when I jumped from a height. As I lay sprawled on the grass on a picnic day watching the sky I felt lost as I continued my gaze on the cerulean canvas. As TV had not entered out lives there were more hours to play and learn tables sitting under a starry night sky.
As years gathered steam I grew up, and those lazy noons remained somewhere in my memory, dormant and waiting for the opportune moment.
muskmelong seedsNow I’m a father of two grown-up daughters and it feels nice to share those treasured moments with them. Like munching on musk melon seeds after cracking the shell, one at a time. So much so that at the end of a half hour you may have consumed not more than 10g. But those 10g is good source Of Potassium, Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Folate, Zinc, Manganese, Magnesium, Iron, Copper, Calcium, Vitamin B3 and Vitamin B2. Melon seed is an average antioxidant. Melon Seeds are viewed as being a powerhouse of various nutrients, featuring essential fatty acids that are believed to be important for maintaining a healthy heart. The calcium featured is believed to be necessary for maintaining strong healthy bones and teeth, and is considered to help in combating osteoporosis.
Isn’t that cheap considered to the expensive health supplements we consume in the chemical form?

Leave a Reply

