Waiting for Hummingbirds

ipomea 1

It’s been two years since my Ipomea for which I paid a premium has been flowering but I’m still for Waiting for The Godot moment! Ipomea often grown as ornamentals attract butterflies especially the pink headed hawk moth or even hummingbirds. Having seen hummingbirds in documentaries I have always wanted to see hummingbirds in person and so had planted a Ipomea. Last year when it flowered I waited for a hummingbird to visit my farm. This year too I hoped and waited. Unwilling to take any more waiting I googled Ipomea and came to know that I need to visit the Americas–from southern Alaska to Tierra del Fuego, including the Caribbean—to see one.

Meanwhile I leave the pink headed hawk moth to visit them.

Leave a Reply

