Cow or Not to

I had almost bought my maiden cow along with the calf.  Then, I didn’t.

Buying a car or even a house is easy. You know what you’re getting. You arrange for the EMI and it’s done. But a cow!

Last Sunday Ashok told me that he had no option but to sell his cow along with the year-old calf for two compelling reasons, first to fund his elder son’s education  and secondly his in-laws had no one to take it for grazing. Ever since then I’ve been toying with the idea of buying the cow from him.

“I may get a good price if I sold it to the butcher but I don’t want to,” said Ashok recounting his past experience of selling one. “I was unwell for over a month and couldn’t sleep during nights waking up with nightmares.”

Returning home I discussed about owning the cow with wifey and she agreed. (She’s really sweet and indulges me when it comes to my farm). I suspect she may be calling names saying “This old man and his farm obsession.”   But then it’s for my good so I don’t complain. My intention to own a cow was basically for the animal’s urine and dung.

And since then I’ve been happily telling everyone (including the bus conductor in which I travel daily) that I planning to add two four legged beings to my family. Most of my friends were happy. Some jealous too, thinking: “Has a farm and now a cow. Lucky chap.”

Days passed and I was on high until Saturday when I called Jitz, a friend in Bihar. Belonging to a farming family which he still continued do.

“What’s the age?” he asked on my mobile excited about my four-legged obsession.

“Ten, with a year-old calf. It’s a heifer cow,” I replied.

“Ideally you should buy one which is not more than three or four-year-old old and preferably a black Kapila,” he advised.

According to Gou Vishwakosh (vishwagou.org)  http://www.omprakruthidhama.in  Kapila breed of cow is native to Dakshina Karnataka. Is small in stature and produces less milk. Its milk has high medicinal values with great healing properties. Reared by Kapila rishi and hence derived its name. A variant of this breed called as golden kapila, comes with golden eyes, nose and golden skin. The breed produces a substance called “Go-rochana” in its horns, which has high medicinal powers. The cow voluntarily sheds its horn once a year. Highly revered among priests, Kapila has immense tolerance to diseases and is not known to have suffered any fatal diseases.

A bit informed about cow, someday I intend to have a Kapila. I refused Ashok’s offer. But didn’t dishearten him putting the money in his hand this morning  adding, “Return it when you can. No hurries. Even a Rs 100 a month would do.”

A cow can make you do a good deed.

6 thoughts on “Cow or Not to

  1. Why do I get this feeling that somehow or the udder a cow will soon grace your farm? You must be among the few farmers who value the cow’s excretions more than its more coveted secretion. Wish you the best bovine luck!

  2. jayant bhat

    hello
    i am also looking to buy a Kapila, but there are no sellers, if you get your hands on one or know anyone who is willing to part with one or more i would be willing to give it a good home. like you i am not interested in the milk yield, i need the urine and dung for my farm.

  3. Radhika

    Once again, a great post, so well-written. Your posts make your farm come to life in my imagination – thanks. Keep on writing….and farming. 🙂

Leave a Reply

