In praise of Kathgolap

As I pushed the new collapsible gate installed this Sunday at my farm I came to face to face with the blooming Temple Tree. April is the month when the flowers which in Cantonese is known as, ‘gaai daan fa’ or the ‘egg yolk flower’. Isn’t it true to its name?

The white and blazing pink bougainvillea were giving company to the solitary Plumeria in my garden.  I’m told flowers of Kathgolap, as it is known in Bangla, are most fragrant at night and lures sphinx moths to pollinate them. Incidentally, the flowers have no nectar, and simply dupe their pollinators. The moths inadvertently pollinate them by transferring pollen from flower to flower in their fruitless search for nectar.

Plumeria has over 300 varieties and I plan to have some of them to add colours to my garden during the summer months of April and May. But I intend to have many of them because they lack nectar. The nectar I’m looking for the bees I plan to introduce.

2 thoughts on “In praise of Kathgolap

  1. Dnyanesh

    i have been reading your blog since last 1 and half year…very much impressed by your work … want to visit ur farm and want to see how you have turned a barren land in to green zone…

Leave a Reply

