Cow Droppings

Having alighted from the ST bus and taking the dirt road to my farm I saw my path littered with cow droppings. That was enough to give me an idea: why let the dung get wasted?

I spend around Rs 4,000 to Rs 6,000 every year buying truck loads of cow dung manure or as they locals call it sheng khat. Well, using dung manure is beneficial and cheap compared to buying the chemical stuff but still it was burning a hole in my purse.

For the last three weeks I’ve been beginning my day carrying a plastic shopping bag (it’s a wide mouthed Westside store bag) scouting the neighbourhood for cow droppings. This Sunday I returned to my farm with the bag weighing around 20kgs! If this ‘harvest’ goes on like this I’m confident I will be able to save the money I spent on buying sheng khat.

2 thoughts on “Cow Droppings

  1. jayant bhat

    watch out for termites if the dung is dry, take care, here in Mangalore there are no more free ranging cows so no dung on the roads and dung is frightfully expensive, take care.

Leave a Reply

