My farm obsession

Farm… Farm… and farm. I’ve had enough of it, shouted my wife.

She was really angry. Rather than confront her I kept quiet. As they say, for marital harmony.

I agree that my farm has become my second love. Why will my first love concede to my latest muse?

Even my kids too feel that I’m too obsessed and have become selfish. Always blabbering about my farm. In fact, I have had dreams about my farm. My man Friday abandoning the farm for a daily wager job at a construction site. My two-year-old Mango trees wilting because Mangal forgot to water them. Many a night I have got up with nightmares like cattle entering my farm, a pest attack, rains washing away everything standing etc.

I have become obsessive about my farm. My TRP at home is lowest. But I continue to suffer in silence.

At times, I feel they are right. Yes, I’m a taciturn type of person and hardly interact with others. But lately, it has been over two years now, that people around me are forced to listen to all that “rubbish” I talk about farming technique, medicinal plants, vermicomposting, biocide, the benefit of cow urine to farm, organic farming etc.

Lately even my reading is related to plants, insects, organic farming etc. I happen to discover  Michael Pollan, author  of books like The Botany of Desire: A Plant’s-Eye View of the World, The Wild Trees: A Story of Passion and Daring, Second Nature: A Gardener’s Education and A Place of My Own: The Architecture of Daydreams. Though I’ve not been able to lay my hands on any of his books but I hope I soon will.

2 thoughts on “My farm obsession

  1. Vamsi

    🙂 know exactly what you mean….Hi I’m vamsi and got to know about your blog today from Farm nest…..going through a similar phase in my life.

Leave a Reply

