Growing Banganpalli

I don’t know how to write this. Ok let me try.

Standing in front of it I was amazed by Nature’s play. A month back it was a succulent fruit which I had devoured during my dinner watching Castle on Star World. I had never tasted anything like this before: it was my first Banganpalli mango.  Gifted by a Hyderebadi–having come to know that despite being on the planet for so long I hadn’t tasted Hyderabad’s favourite mango.  It was a treat which I have mentioned in my previous post and will not repeat.

Dinner over I had cleaned the stone and placed it on my balcony window to dry. Ten days latter I planted the stone in a plastic container—the one’s you get from eateries when you ask for home-delivered meals.  I made a couple of holes on it using a burning hot screw driver so that the water could drain.

Waiting for the impossible to happen I forgot about it.

This Sunday I was witness to Nature’s wonder: having seen a tiny sapling emerge from the pot. The Banganpalli which till very recently was a fruit  was promising to be a plant.

Come here…fast, I shouted for my wife.

And she rushed fearing I had slipped on the  floor but on seeing the tiny shoot she too cried in wonder: So beautiful. Let it grow in the pot for another two months and then replant it.

I felt like a mother.

5 thoughts on “Growing Banganpalli

  1. manishaar

    It was amazing to see the picture. That’s the beauty of life. We were in Hyderabad for a few days last week and there were hundreds and hundreds of Banganpallis, Himayat and Peddarasal, waiting to be devoured. The Banganpallis were available for a throw-away price of Rs 15- Rs 20 per kg, with each mango weighing around 1.25 kgs. Well, we had our fill of mangoes this season, so were the other Hyderabadis, for whom mangoes formed their desserts and part of their regular meals.
    Out of curiosity, we went to a nearby nursery near E.C.I.L area, where we inquired about the original Nuzividu saplings and the lady and her son, owning the nursery have promised to bring them in August.
    In the meantime, we bought a few packs of Thokku pickle for our friends. The pickle is made from the Avakaya (green raw mangoes of Nuzividu, which incidentally is in Krishna district).

    Manishaa and Rajendra

    1. hiraman

      I’m looking out for Nuzividu for my farm. I already have five varieties of mango but would like to have more. Dil Mange More.

  2. rafiq yusuf

    Hi Hiraman,
    Congratulations.
    Planting a baganpalli mango seed wont give you a true to type baganpalli.What you will get is a very fibrous mango fruit plant.Rather go in for a banganpalli grafted seedling,quite cheap-abt rs40/- if it can be arranged from some nursery in hyderabad(sadly no nursery attends small orders,as i told you earlier)
    Usually grafting is done on the seedling,if you want a true baganpalli plant.
    Kindly check out,else you will be disappointed after 3/4 years whn plant bears fruit.
    Kindly take note.
    Regards,
    Rafiq.

  3. rafiq yusuf

    Also if the five varieties that you have at your farm have come by the same route,then kindly get rid of them,as all you will get is a very fibrous mango fruit.
    Regards.
    Rafiq Yusuf

Leave a Reply

